Friday, January 27, 2006

Upcoming OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) Events

Join us for a variety of great programs in OPAL this
month. A wonderful series on Illinois authors will
begin with mystery author Julia Spencer-Fleming;
February 16 is the Day of the Digital Audio Book; the
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Curator Kim Bauer
will talk about some of the curiousities of Abraham
Lincoln; and you can discuss the love lives of the
British royals.

OPAL programs are web-based programs where people can
get together to view a power point, website, and more,
and interact via text chat and audio.

All programs are free and open to everyone. To attend
a program, to to the OPAL auditorium at
http://67.19.231.218/v4/login.asp?r=67955673&p=0
type your name and click enter.


OPAL programs are web-based programs where people can
get together to view a power point, website, and more,
and interact via text chat and audio.

Wednesday, February 8, 2006 beginning at 2:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time, 1:00 Central, noon Mountain,
11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
Topic to Be Announced
Join us for a fascinating tour of some of the digital
riches at the Library of Congress. Presented by the
librarians at the Library of Congress.
This OPAL event will be held in the Auditorium.


Wednesday, February 8, 2006 beginning at 3:30 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time, 2:30 Central, 1:30 Mountain,
12:30 p.m. Pacific, and 9:30 p.m. GMT:
Illinois Authors: Julia Spencer-Fleming
Award-winning mystery author Julia Spencer-Fleming
grew up in places as diverse as Mobile, Rome,
Stuttgart and Syracuse. Her debut novel, In the Bleak
Midwinter, won the St. Martin's/Malice Domestic, the
Dilys, the Agatha, the Anthony, the Macavity and the
Barry Awards. A Fountain Filled With Blood received a
Barry Award nomination, and Julia's latest Clare
Fergusson novel, Out of the Deep I Cry, was a 2005
Edgar Award finalist. Julia lives in the Maine
countryside with three kids, two dogs and one husband.
Organized by the New Lenox Public Library District and
the Geneva Public Library. Both libraries will be
offering live, on-site showings of this online
presentation.
This OPAL event will be held in the Auditorium.


Thursday, February 9, 2006 beginning at 3:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time, 2:00 Central, 1:00 Mountain,
noon Pacific, and 8:00 p.m. GMT:
Great British Love Stories: How They Changed the
Course of History, and Where You can Read More About
It

British history is full of romantic fables, tales, and
true stories about royal love affairs and how they
affected history: from the love triangle of Arthur,
Guinevere, and Lancelot; to Henry VIII and Anne
Boleyn; to Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville; to our
own century with Prince Charles and Camilla Parker
Bowles. This interactive program will introduce or
reintroduce you to these fascinating romances, how
they affected history, and some fiction and
non-fiction books where you can read more about it.
Come and share your favorite British love story.
Presented by Lori Bell from the Alliance Library
System of central Illinois.
This OPAL event will be held in the Auditorium.


Thursday, February 16, 2006 :
Day of the Digital Audio Book
This inaugural event for LibraryU Live! will include
online self-paced LibraryU modules combined with a day
of live events in the OPAL online auditorium and will
feature three separate sessions on the exciting and
innovative activities going on in libraries in the
area of digital audio books. A bonus "brown bag lunch"
will provide participants with the opportunity to
listen to experts talk about their experiences with a
range of creative digital audio book programs.
This special day of online events and discussions if
free of charge, but we do ask that you Register.
Presented by OPAL and LibraryU.
This OPAL event will be held in the online Auditorium.

Wednesday, February 22, 2006 beginning at 11:00 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time, 10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m.
Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific, and 4:00 p.m. GMT:
Lincoln: Ironies, Curiosities & Weird Stuff
Kim Bauer, Curator for Lincoln Collection at the
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library for the past ten
years, will present this OPAL session on "Lincoln:
Ironies, Curiosities & Weird Stuff". Mr. Bauer will
discuss some of the interesting facts that he has
discovered as Lincoln Curator for the Lincoln
Collection. Join us for this informative session on
Abraham Lincoln. Sponsored by the Rolling Prairie
Library System
This OPAL event will be held in the Auditorium.


Wednesday, February 22, 2006 beginning at 8:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time, 7:00 Central, 6:00 Mountain,
5:00 Pacific, and Midnight GMT:
Book Discussion of the classic Russian novel, The
Brothers Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

The melodramatic tale of Fyodor Karamazov and his
sons: Alyosha, Dmitri, Ivan, and the illegitimate
Smerdyakov. The death of the father and conflicts of
faith are key themes in this panorama of
nineteenth-century Russia. This novel has it all:
love, lust, murder, money-grubbing, religious doubt,
social problems....
NLS audiobook version: RC 50370 (8 cassettes; read by
Ken Kliban)
This OPAL public event will be held in the Atrium.

OPAL is administered by the Alliance Library System,
the Illinois State Library Talking Book and Braille
Service, and the Mid-Illinois Talking book Center.

CLick here for the complete schedule of upcoming OPAL events.

No comments: